Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award

Born in Toronto in 1934, Robert Elver is celebrated as one of Canada’s foremost mineral economists. After graduating from the University of Toronto, Elver joined the Mineral Resources Division of the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys, where he would spend his entire career. Elver was instrumental in bringing Canadian involvement to international metals committees, such as OECD and the Economic Commission for Europe, especially in steel. He enhanced mineral development domestically and was instrumental in reviewing mining public policy in the 1970s.

Robert Elver’s foresight led to the formation of the Mineral Economics Committee in 1974, which eventually became the Management & Economics Society. Elver was the Committee’s first Chair, but he died after a brief illness in July 1979. Following his death, the Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award was created to honour a CIM member who has made significant contributions to the field of mineral economics in Canada.

Obituary of Robert B. Elver


Recipients of the Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award

Dr. Robert B. Elver proposed to the CIM Council in 1974 that a committee in mineral economics should be formed. An award in mineral economics was established in his memory following his untimely death in July 1979. The first award was presented in 1981.

1981  Keith Buck
1982  Hugh Taylor
1983  Brian Mackenzie
1984  Herbert D. Dreschler
1985  J. Philip Prince
1986  Donald J. Worth, W. Barbour
1987  Donn Morgan
1988*  –
1999  Gerhard Anders
1990  Alistair J. Sinclair
1991  Noel A. Cleland
1992  Edward M. Yates
1993  Gerald DeSorcy
1994  Patrick Mars
1995  David E. Harquail
1996  Bernie J. Haystead and John T. Postle
1997  Graham Farquharso
1998  Graham Farquharson**
1999  George Espley
2000  Michael Chender
2001  John J. Drury
2002  Michael Doggett
2003  Lawrence Devon Smith
2004  Maureen Jensen
2005  Ian S. Thompson
2006  Jane Spooner
2007  David D. Davidson
2008  Keith Brewer
2009  Keith Spence and William Roscoe
2010  Karl Harries
2011  Pierre Lassonde
2012  Deborah McCombe
2013  Dr. Michael Samis
2014  John R. Ing
2015  Lionel Kilburn
2016  William McNeil
2017  Gordon Bogden
2018  Simon Houlding
2019  Terence Ortslan
2020  Reno Pressacco
2021  Patricia Mohr
2022  Michael Bourassa
2023  Mauro Chiesa
2024 Fred Pletcher


* No available information for 1988.
** Graham Farquharson was awarded both in 1997 (a ‘regular’ award) and 1998 following his role in the uncovering of the Bre-X fraud.


A BIO description of many of these recipients can be found HERE.